OFFICIAL MINUTES
REGULAR MEETING
BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL
SERVICE UNIT NO. 13

The regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit No. 13 (ESU 13) was called to order by Administrator Dr. Laura Barrett on Tuesday, January 17, 2023 at 7:00 PM at the ESU 13 Main Office, 4215 Avenue I, Scottsbluff, NE. The meeting notice was published in the Star-Herald on Saturday, January 14, 2023.

Dr. Barrett referenced the Nebraska Open Meetings Act as posted and noted that the Board reserves the right to rearrange the order of the agenda and to convene an executive session in accordance with § 84-1410.

Newly elected Board member, Casper Ningen, could not be sworn in as a Board member since he was unable to attend the meeting.

Present: Diane Coon, Steve Diemoz, Tim Horn, Patricia Jones, Bill Knapper, Scott Marsh, Kim Marx, Tom Millette, Ray Richards, Mark Sinner, Dr. Caroline Winchester, Dr. Laura Barrett - Administrator, Jodi Walker - Business Manager, and Desira Martin - Treasurer.

Absent: None

Reorganization of the Board:

Dr. Barrett called for nominations from the floor for President. Diemoz nominated Sinner for President. Moved by Diemoz, seconded by Knapper that nominations cease.

Dr. Barrett called for nominations from the floor for Vice President. Jones nominated Marx. Moved by Jones, seconded by Marsh that nominations cease.

Dr. Barrett called for nominations from the floor for Secretary. Knapper nominated Millette. Moved by Diemoz seconded by Richards that nominations cease.

The Board was unanimous in its approval of the elected officers.

President Sinner appoints Desira Martin as Treasurer and Recording Secretary.

Board Members were provided electronic copies of state statutes 49-14, 101.01, 49-14, 101.02, and 49-1499.03 regarding Conflict of Interest.

President Sinner asked Board members to read the Code of Ethics for Board Members. Signatures will be collected and filed with the Official Minutes.

Moved by Winchester, seconded by Richards, that the agenda be approved as listed. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: None. Motion passed.

Moved by Horn, seconded by Knapper that consent action items be approved as listed (Minutes of December regular meeting, Treasurer's Report, Fund Balance Report, Budget Summary, Claims, and ESU 13 Title IX/Non-Discrimination Compliance Coordinator - Danielle Cole). Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: None. Motion passed.

The following General Fund claims were approved for payment:

January 2023 Claims	
Salaries, Benefits	\$937,238.85
Prof. & Tech. Services; Mileage	\$82,632.34
Leases, Utilities & Maintenance	\$20,638.00

Copies, Postage, Telephone & Travel	\$52,540.01
Supplies, Materials, Software & other Util.	\$107,102.71
Bldg. Improvements, Furn., Equipment, Hardware, Vehicle Acquisition	\$6,056.67
Transfer for Investments	\$0.00
Dues, Fees & Ind. Costs	-\$1,463.33
Total	\$1,204,745.25

Calendar items were noted.

No Public Forum.

Reports:

The Finance Committee reviewed the 2021-2022 audit results.

Head Start Annual Report - No discussion

Administrator's Report Highlights:

- Dr. Barrett thanked our Board for their leadership, dedication, and engagement in serving on our Board.
- ESU 13 will be hosting the ESUCC meeting February 1-2, 2023.
- Conversation is continuing with our northern tier of schools to expand Meridian and VALTS programs into their area.
- Processes for supporting the need for cybersecurity in our schools are being organized.

Board Committee Reports: no discussion.

Board Member Comments: Millette commended the article regarding VALTS that was published in the Star-Herald. Knapper commented on LB299. Jones would like to include the discussion of reading programs at a future meeting.

Business:

Moved by Marx, seconded by Richards, that the Board approve Douglas, Kelly, Ostdiek, Snyder, Ossian, & Vogl, PC, and Perry Law Firm as ESU 13's legal counsel. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Millette, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: None. Motion passed.

Subcommittees have been reorganized. President Sinner appointed members to the subcommittees.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Winchester, that the Board approve ESU 13's current depositories as listed on the Treasurer's Report and give the treasurer the latitude to shift money when in ESU 13's best interest. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Richards to amend the above action item regarding depositories and to remove the statement "and give the treasurer the latitude to shift money when in ESU 13's best interest." Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Millette, Marx, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Coon that the Board approve the Scottsbluff Star-Herald as ESU 13's newspaper of record. Aye: Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: None. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Marx that the Board authorize the business manager to pay credit cards, utilities, and payroll between Board meetings. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Marsh that the Board approve holding February and March regular Board meetings by video conference and at ESU 13's Main Office in Scottsbluff. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Winchester that the Board approve the recommendation of the Finance Committee to approve ESU 13's 2021-2022 audit from Dana Cole & Company. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper that Board approve the recommendation of the Negotiations/Personnel Committee to approve the Negotiated Agreement for the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 school years. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Horn, seconded by Jones, that the above listed minutes be approved as read. Aye: Coon, Diemoz, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

President Sinner declared the regular meeting adjourned. Next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 21, 2023 at ESU 13 Main Office, 4215 Avenue I, Scottsbluff, NE and via Zoom.